Frog poetry

Here’s my response to this month’s poetry challenge on Rebecca Cuningham’s Fake Flamenco blog.

In her May challenge, she uses one of my frog pictures as prompt and asks us to write a dodoitsu (a syllabic, four line poem with 7-7-7-5 syllables). You can find out more here: https://fakeflamenco.com/2024/05/05/may-2024-poetry-challenge-fraternizing-with-frogs/

By the way, you still have until Sunday to send in your response! So, what are you waiting for? The world needs more frog poetry.

It’s always a pleasure to take part in Rebecca’s challenges. She features all entries in a round-up post a few days after the deadline. As a bonus gift – and this is the bit I really, really like and appreciate – she also translates the poems into Spanish.

So, here’s my little dodoitsu about my very own pond frogs.

Picture credit: Britta Benson
in amongst green polka dots
he said, she said, croak on croak
two heads slowly warming up
two hearts cooled by depth

©️2024 Britta Benson. No unauthorized use permitted.

Here’s a bit more about my picture: https://brittasblog422041504.wordpress.com/2024/05/06/frogs-going-places/

13 thoughts on “Frog poetry

    1. Thanks, Margaret, and of course you can use the image. I gave Rebecca and all the participants in the challenge permission to use it – I’m actually quite chuffed that my pond frogs have been chosen as muses! They are an inspiring bunch!

      Liked by 2 people

  1. Hurrah for your frog photo inspiration. It’s taking the world by storm. Adore your idea of a poetry reading to the frogs that started it all. Good dodoitsu, I like how the warm and cool are in surprising lines.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Rebecca. I shall inform my pond frogs of the impending poetry reading. Once all the entries are on your blog, I shall perform the poems to my best ability. This should be fun. I shall keep you posted…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well I must say its the first time I’ve written a Poem about Frogs. I didn’t follow the rules though due to not reading the original post properly. My poem rhymes & I used different pictures.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I always consider rules as a suggestion. Sometimes, we have to take the poem down a different alley and that’s totally fine. I just had a look at your frog poem – so glad the little froggy found a happy end!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started